Call of the Wild

Location: MOTR

Band: Call of the Wild (Brooklyn)

I think it was a Tuesday night. I found a band on MOTR’s website that said essentially “rock band from Brooklyn” so I went to check it out. Even from walking up the sidewalk I heard a loud, fast, rock band. I went inside and felt horrible after about 5 mins because it wasn’t as packed as I would’ve liked. Granted it was a Tuesday night and, not even necessarily for the benefit of the band selling merch or anything, I was actually more concerned that there was an awesome band that everyone was missing that you couldn’t go see next week. I was practically lifted off my feet with all their energy and a little mesmerized; they all were moving around and giving a show. I got a MC5 or Stooges vibe from it.

I talked with Johnny, the lead singer, after they finished and told him I had some really cool pictures. We met up later when I joined him and the bartender for shots of something clear that turned out to burn and taste like tequila.

COTW has a girl drummer!, Allison, who seems like a girl who might be able to kick your ass and give you a talking too based on her hair flailing hard hitting drumming, but she is actually very much a sweetheart who listens to what you’re saying.

Max, the bass player who looks like Fabrizio Moretti from the Strokes, is a good dresser and reserves his words and I might add I think he fell asleep pretty early. He seems to be the protector of the group, having a good time but calm and collected, always having his friends’ backs.

Johnny is the classic rock star “Ozzy Osbourne” kinda fucked up guy who’s got a lot of balls and might be the most interesting guy you’ll ever meet and is serious about his music. Even though Max and Allison can hold their own, it seems Johnny is the tiger that leads the pack to their next kill.

We met up later at another OTR bar and had a few more drinks before they came back and crashed at my place. Johnny and I stayed up pretty late chatting., I don’t remember ever talking about my band which is weird because typically that’s the first thing I do when talking to another musician, like “my band tooo! I’ve played there, we’ve did that!” We talked a lot about life, touring, and their home base, Brooklyn. I had just visited Brooklyn my first time a week or 2 prior, so it was cool to relive a little bit of the fun I had there.

The last thing I remember of the night was the mistake I made, chugging a bottle of peach schnapps as a glory howl to the night, a bark at the moon, a call of the wild, I felt the next morning. The sugary sweet mixture was clinging to my insides and living with me the whole next day. I woke up the next morning to find their blankets perfectly folded and a note from them saying thank you. They also left us a vinyl copy of their record, which I thought was very nice of them to do and added to their charm.

check out photos of the band and more @
http://www.electromassproductions.com/photos.html

Leave a comment